Governance of District Police, Idukki

Idukki Police District      Full Size

This beautiful High range district of Kerala is geographically known for its Mountainous Hills and Dense Forests. For the people of Kerala, Idukki is always associated with Power Generation. About 66% of the State's Power needs come from the Hydroelectric Power Projects in Idukki. Idukki accounts for 12.9 percent of the area of Kerala and only 3.7 percent of the population of Kerala.

The Idukki District Police comes under Kochi Range in South Zone. It is headed by an officer of the rank of Superintendent of Police. It has 5 sub divisions viz Thodupuzha, Kattappana, Munnar,Idukki and Peerumedu each headed by a Deputy Superintendent of Police. 12 Circle Offices were functioned in Idukki district Till 31st December 2017, Now the office does not functioning as per the Order of the State Government. Out of 32 Police Stations in Idukki district, each headed by an Inspector of Police, 1 Police Station viz Mullaperiyar is headed by a Deputy Superintendent of Police. In addition to this, various special units like DCRB, Narcotic Cell, Crime Detachment and Special Branch headed by a Deputy Superintendent of Police & Forensic Science Lab and Motor Transport unit are also functioning under the District Police Chief. A Women Cell under the WCI is also functioning under the District Police Chief. The District Armed Reserve Camp headed by an Assistant Commandant is functioning with its headquarters near District Police Office.

The Idukki Police have a strength of approximately 1985 men, serve a population of over 11,08,974 of Idukki district of Kerala state, India. The population span across 2 muncipal town, 5 taluks and 66 villages, over an area of 4356 square kilometers with an average population density of 255 per square kilometer. We investigate about 20,000 cases for year.