District Special Branch , Idukki

04862 232356, 04862 232319 dyspidk.pol@kerala.gov.in,

Came into existence

The District Special Branch, Idukki started functioning as per GO (MS) No. 10/72/Home, Dated. 25/01/1972 under an Inspector of Police. The post of the Special Branch Inspector was upgraded vide G.O. (Rt) No. 798/83/Home, Dated. 26/03/1983 to that of Deputy Superintendent of Police. But subsequently as per G.O. (MS) 60/89/Home, Dated. 08/05/1990 the charge of this office was reconstituted under an Inspector of Police instead of Deputy Superintendent of Police. Later as per G.O. (MS) 351/95 Home, Dated. 07/11/95, the post of Special Branch Inspector was again upgraded to the rank of Deputy Superintendent of Police.

Situated at

District Special Branch Idukki is now functioning at Painavu in Government Staff Quarter No. C-8 of PWD. This building was allotted to District Special Branch, Idukki vide Proceedings No. E1 – 38963/01, Dated. 17/09/02 of the District Collector Idukki. This office is about 2 Km away from District Police office, Idukki.

Present Strength

The District Special Branch Idukki comprises of one DySP , two Sub Inspectors, 3 Assistant Sub Inspectors , and 30 Senior Civil Police Officers.

General Information About Idukki

Idukki district was formed in 1972 Vide GO (MS) No.10/72/Home dated 25/01/1972. Tamilnadu state is the boarder state that cover eastern and northern side of the district. Ernakulam, Kottayam and Pathanamthitta districts are the adjacent districts.

Idukki district has an area of 4407 square Kilometers, out of which 2589.794 square K.M, is forest area. According to census 2001, the population of the district is 11,29,221. Out of this, 566682 are male and 562539 are female. Literacy percentage is 78.15 %. As per 2001 census 1,59,362 are Scheduled Casts and 50,973 are scheduled Tribes.

Thodupuzha is the only Municipality in this District. There are eight Block Panchayaths (Thodupuzha, Elamdesam, Idukki, Kattappana, Nedumkandam, Peerumedu, Devikulam and Adimaly) and 52 Gramapanchayaths. There are 2 revenue sub divisions, Idukki and Devikulam and 5 Taluks, Thodupuzha, Peerumede, Udumbanchola, Devikulam and Idukki.

There are three Police Sub Divisions, Thodupuzha, Munnar and Kattappana, 12 Circles, 27 Police Stations and two Police Out Post. The four inter-state boarder check posts with Tamilnadu are Kumily, Cumbummettu, Bodimettu and Chinnar.